AN ACTION-PACKED SEASON OPENER FOR KWAZULU NATAL OVER THE WEEKEND

A brand-new karting season kicked off on a sunny and hot Sunday, 28th January for KZN Kart Club at iDube Raceway. With new and exciting changes for the Club Championship which gives out-of-town



competitors the opportunity to race and score in the KZN Club Championship, we saw drivers joining from as far as Gauteng to embark on their 2024 KZN racing campaigns. Was great to see all the regular competitors but was also fantastic to see many fresh faces and out-of-town folk!

DD2 & DD2 MASTERS

In Rotax Max's premier class Sharad Banto and Jono Pieterse fought the day out for first place in DD2 with Jono taking the first and third heats. Sharad took the second heat from Jono suffering a technical retirement. Sharad claimed victory for the day, Jono second and Reval Gayadin third followed by Steve Clark and Hannah Daniel, who had a tough day also having to retire from the first two heats and a DNS in the third. Steve won the day in the Masters category with Jono second.

1st

DD2

- 1st Sharad Banto
- 2nd Jono Pieterse
- 3rd Reval Gayadin
- 4th Steve Clark
- 5th Hannah Daniel

2nd - Jono Pieterse

DD2 MASTERS

- Steve Clark

JUNIOR MAX & SENIOR MAX

Junior and Senior Max classes were combined on the day. From the outset it was clear that the man to beat was Jonno Wilson. Jonno made a clean sweep, taking all three heats. Uzair Khan contested hard but in the end couldn't match Wilsons pace. Brothers Shrien and Dhivyen Naidoo had lots of close racing with each other fighting for third spot in all three heats and swapping position throughout each race. In the end it was Jonno who claimed the days victory with his faultless drive, followed by Uzair second and Shrien third. Dhivyen, Travis Mingay and Corban Spies making up the rest of the field.

Junior Max saw some close racing in amongst the Seniors, but it was Kyle Spies who won the day by winning two of the three heats, followed by Sebastian Geldenhuys and Troy Pieterse.

SENIOR MAX

- 1st Jonno Wilson
- 2nd Uzair Khan
- 3rd Shrien Naidoo
- 4th Dhivyen Naidoo
- 5th Travis Mingay
- 6th Corban Spies

MICRO MAX & MINI MAX

The ever-popular Micro and Mini Max classes race together in combined heats on the day. Competition in the heats was very close and saw local boy Ryan Falconer win the first heat, but Michael Arde won heat

. . . .

JUNIOR MAX

1st - Kyle Spies

2nd - Sebastian Geldenhuys

3rd - Troy Lee Pieterse

two and three which saw him take the Mini Max class win for the day ahead of Ryan in second and visiting Gauteng brothers Christian and Matthew Naidoo third and fourth respectively. Matthew Shuttleworth took the Micro Max win ahead of Adrian Steyn, both drivers out-of-towners from Gauteng.

MINI MAX

- 1st Michael Arde
- 2nd Ryan Falconer
- 3rd Christian Naidoo
- 4th Matthew Naidoo

BAMBINO

The kindergarten of motor racing, Bambino, catering for our youngest children between 5 and 9 years old, with two Out-Of-Town club members Sebastian Shuttleworth and Alonzo de Oliveira taking on local lad Sean Arde. Alonzo won the first heat but Sebastien winning heat two and three saw him secure the win for the day, with Alonzo in second and Sean in third.

- 1st Sebastien Shuttleworth
- 2nd Alonzo de Oliveira
- 3rd Sean Arde

JUNIOR & SENIOR CLUBMANS

The introduction of the new Clubman's classes for all "new to racing" competitors, saw a full field of newbies. The field was made up of Junior and Senior Clubman's combined, and although the competitors lacked the experience of the Junior and Senior Max field, they didn't disappoint with an action packed 3 heats and with each competitor show improvement heat on heat. In the end it was Abigail Rudd who won the day for Senior Clubman', taking a hattrick of wins, Teshaan Moodley second and Taslyn Sujpathy third. Roxy Lange won the Junior Clubman's and Hana Moolla taking second place.

SENIOR CLUBMANS

- 1st Abigail Rudd
- 2nd Teshaan Moodley
- 3rd Taslyn Sujpathy
- 4th Kailey Gengaih
- 5th Lwanele Kareem Sithole

4 STROKES

The extremely popular 4 stroke class featured some very competitive and close racing in all three heats but with the noticeable absence of Lisa Mingay who had to withdraw from the event due to a crash and injury sustained during practice the day before. Alistair Mingay, her husband, won heats one and three to win the class ahead of Angus Townsen in second and Andrew Nivison in third, followed by Kyle Nivison, Edmond Masson, Andy Arde and Wally Townsen.

- 1st Alistair Mingay
- 2nd Angus Townsen
- 3rd Andrew Nivison
- 4th Kyle Nivison
- 5th Edmond Masson
- 6th Andy Arde
- 7th Wally Townsen

MICRO MAX

- 1st Matthew Shuttleworth
- 2nd Adrian Steyn

1st - Roxy Lange 2nd - Hana Moolla

JUNIOR CLUBMANS